Monday? Monday. Right.

I am in blog crisis, which is to say, not even close to a real crisis, at all. It’s a totally pretend crisis. And yet, I am spending some time having it.

I think it all boils down to the fact that my old blog had a decent following, and then I kind of disappeared for a year and a half, and reappeared-ish, and it all feels muddy, disjointed, like I should have left well enough alone, maybe changed my template and called it a damn day. Instead I’m like that kid who spent a year as an exchange student and then came back to the little cornfield high school and tried– unsuccessfully– to pick up where she left off.

I have a lot I want to say and work on creatively and very little time to do it, so the vehicle seems to be this awful, heavy-breathing, important elephant in the room. Nobody cares about it but me, and I’m pretty sure I don’t care about it either, which is what makes it so hard. Blogs. Pffft. Why do I have one I don’t know because I have to. 

Something equally not that interesting:
Here’s what happens at work everyday: I crank out a round of copy for, say, a ton of newspaper ads talking about a change in bus routes. I upload them to the “system,” and check all the right boxes for all the right people to get notified, etc. and hit “save.”

And then I get ready to move on to the next thing and there’s an email in my inbox! And I get all excited and I check it because WHO COULD IT BE FROM and will they be saving me from writing any more bus route ads? But alas, the email is from me, always, letting me know that I uploaded the bus route ad files to the system. And then I cry. The end.

Leave a Reply

